Skip to main content

Josie Gould Memorial Scholarship

Graphic of Josie Gould

Sister Josie Gould was one of the original members of the Union of Northern Workers.  Her untiring efforts had profound effects on union members who knew her over the years.  

Because of her staunch commitment to the UNW, and because of her devotion to helping youth, the Josie Gould Scholarship was created upon her retirement.  

After her death in 2008, the scholarship was renamed the "Josie Gould Memorial Scholarship."  


Today, in her name, scholarships are awarded annually to ten students who understand the importance of the Labour Movement and who have been accepted for full time post-secondary study.

Since the first Josie Gould Scholarships were awarded in 2002, the UNW has awarded over $400,000 in scholarships.

2023 Scholarship Winners

Each year, the UNW sponsors up to 10 scholarships in the amount of $3,000.00 dollars each for students enrolled in full-time study. 

2 of the 10 scholarships are reserved for successful candidates who have never attended post-secondary education (be sure to fill out this part of the application form if you wish to be considered for one of those)

Scholarships are open to UNW members in good standing, as well as current, retired and deceased members’ spouses and relatives whose permanent place of residence is Canada.

2023 essay topic:

  • Why is it important for unions to fight for Indigenous issues? What does Reconciliation look like in the workplace, and what are the positive impacts on all workers and community members? How could employer hiring policies in the NWT be improved to address inequities and move forward together?

This year's recipients are:

  • Rohma Athar - [untitled essay]
  • Kian Berro - Indigenous Issues and Improving Employer Hiring Policies in the Northwest Territories
  • Julian Bowling - Unions and the Road to Reconciliation
  • Niobe Darku - Reconciliation in the Workplace
  • Kristina Lafferty - Unions Paving the Path to Reconciliation: Fostering Equity in the Workplace and the Community
  • Kanti Regmi - Unions' Impact on Indigenous Issues and Reconciliation
  • Meagan Ross - Indigenous Barriers in The Workplace
  • Samien Sarwar - Empowering Unity, Advancing Justice
  • Carter Stirling - Unions and Reconciliation in the Workplace
  • Star Thompson - Reconciliation in the Workplace and its Impact on Workers and Community Members

Past Winners/Recipients

2022: Mary Cairns, Kyle Arink, Amanda Butler, Lori MacMillan Gallant, Aimee Yurris, Pamela Senge Njume, Jesse Roberts, Edith Vachon-Raymond, Matthew Curtis, Kayla Cooper

2021: Cory Dohlen, Bethany Giovanetto, Samantha Morandin, Trisa Ngo, Joel Rhymer, Kateryna Staszuk, Shaun Thagard, Andrew Watson

2020: Kirianne Ashley, Mary-Lynn Berton, Amanda Bradbury, Mary Cairns, Annalise Couturier, Amelia Harman, Sarah Munro, Jade Riordan

2019: Devin Chase, Bethany Giovanetto, Curtis Herritt, Samantha Morandin, Tris Ngo, Ethan Phypers, Catriona Profit, Alexis Reuttnauer, Emily Sabourin, Kathy Spooner, Crystal Walsh, Kim Wilson

2018: Laurinda Cheng, Benjamin McGregor, Kelsey Wick, Bradley Hazenberg, Matthew Hart, Lorna Brinston, Shania Clark, Marisa McArthur

2017: Annalise Couturier, Maya Fernandez, Laura Giovanetto, Kathleen Glowach, Harold Ethan Hartley, Curtis Herritt, Amy Lam, Alex Lynch, Jade Riordan, Kateryna Stazuk

2016: Amy Badgley, Emily Muth, Danna Webster, Catriona Profit, Megan Fraser, Connor Goudreau, Geraldine Hunter, Marissa Gartner, Danielle Patzer, Sasha Watson

2015: Denise Bailey, Stephen Giovanetto, Trudy Nelner, Jessica Penney, Jade Riordan, Jasmine Maya St. John, Ariane Vincent, Kelsey Wick, Tammy Soanes-White, Jennifer McInnis-Wharton 

2014: Kristine McLeod, Kristy Ollerhead, Rebecca Robertson, Rene O'Reilly, Craig Ferguson, Arran Ferguson, Emily Joy MacKinnon, Sally Card, Andrew Hewitt, Hannah Bond 

2013: Jill Alain, Tess Alain, Allison Andrews, Paulina Brooks, Clement-Eric Demers, Gregory Huvenaars, Adam Lkusta, Morgan Moffitt, Emily Muth, Kelsey Wick 

2012: Jenny Aitken, Brandon Beaton, Liam Coady, Katie-Lynn Kimble, Margaret Lovely, Emily Joy MacKinnon, Bryana Matthews, Kurt Payne, Veronica Speers, Kathleen White 

2011: David Buchanan, Alexandra Budgell, Leanna Cazon, Sarah Daitch, Margaret Lovely, Elizabeth Purchase, Veronica Speers, Justine Volk, Megan Welsh, Colten Yee 

2010: Christina Boggis, Jessi Casebeer, Jeff Corey, Aston Debogorski, Bradley Hussey, James Mackenzie, Louise McLeod, Andrea McMullen, Melanie Morse, Amanda White


2002: Chris Powell, Sarah Daitch, James Hawkins