Your Executive

The Union of Northern Workers is lead by its Executive, which governs the UNW between conventions. The Executive is elected at the UNW Triennial Convention, where delegates meet to decide issues of policy and set the direction for the UNW.


Your Current UNW Executive
(as of October 17, 2021)

President - Gayla Thunstrom
First Vice President - Melvin Larocque
Second Vice President - Josée-Anne Spirito
RVP Somba K'e - VACANT - see election information below
RVP Fort Smith - Lauraine Armstrong
RVP Hay River - Ray Levesque
RVP Deh Cho - Dennis Nelner
RVP Beaufort Delta/Sahtu - Kenzie MacDonald
RVP North Great Slave - Kevin Butt
RVP Kimberlite - VACANT
Equity Vice President - Brad Brake  

If a Regional Vice President or Equity Vice President has to step down during the three year cycle, an election is run by mail ballot to all signed members of that Region.

UNW Full Executive Standing Committees


announcement coming soon


announcement coming soon


announcement coming soon

RVP Somba K'e Nomination Call

DEADLINE FOR NOMINATIONS: November 26, 2021 – 3:00 pm

The Duties of Officers, including the Regional Vice-Presidents, are listed in the Union of Northern Workers’ By-Laws. By-Law 12 – Section 4 is on the second page of the document linked below for ease of reference.

To be eligible to run for the position of RVP, you must be a current UNW member in good standing, in the Somba K'e Region, and must show that you have been active within the union at least one full (continuous) year as a Local Officer. You are required to provide the details related to your involvement at the Local level at the same time you submit your nomination to the election committee.

Your nominator and seconder must also be current members from the Somba K'e Region in good standing.

DEADLINE: All nominations must be received no later than November 26, 2021 – 3:00 pm.

The mailing address is:

Union of Northern Workers
Suite 400, 4910 53rd Street
Yellowknife, NT
X1A 1V2

Nominations may also be scanned and emailed to:

Fax nominations will also be accepted at: 867-920-4448.

If you are interested in this position and require additional information on the elections process, please refer to UNW By Law 13, Election of Officers and UNW Regulation I. Executive Affairs 4. Election of Officers.

If you still have questions or require additional information, please contact the Director of Finance and Administration (

Gayla Thunstrom President
Melvin Larocque First Vice President
Josée-Anne Spirito Second Vice President
Kenzie MacDonald Regional Vice President Beaufort Delta-Sahtu
Dennis Nelner Regional Vice President Deh Cho
Lauraine Armstrong Regional Vice President Fort Smith
Ray Levesque Regional Vice President Hay River
VACANT Regional Vice President Kimberlite
Kevin Butt Regional Vice President North Great Slave
VACANT Regional Vice President Somba K'e
B.G. (Brad) Brake Equity Vice President